PS4 Exclusive Deep Down is Free to Play?

It’s been recently confirmed by Capcom during the Tokyo Games Show that the Sony Playstation 4 exclusive, online multiplayer dungeon crawler, Deep Down, will be free to play.

Honestly, this is a very surprising and I-don’t-know-what-to-feel feeling. Usually when people hear that a game is Free to Play, their initial reaction will be that it’s lower quality in general compared to a game you buy and hence, they won’t play it. Now I personally don’t believe that since I’ve seen several Free to Play games that are just plain amazing. But what’s surprising here, is that Deep Down probably has the best graphics I’ve seen in quite a while and the game play doesn’t look all that bad as well, it almost feels like a Triple A 60$ title already.

Now, I was expecting Deep Down to be one hell of an amazing game right after I realized i wasn’t watching a CGI footage at E3 but actual Gameplay footage, which basically blew my mind! What I’m concerned with now however, is that, will we get a lesser experience than what we would have gotten if it was a one time 60$ payment Title rather than a free to play title that might charge you ever so often to progress? Not because Free to play games aren’t polished enough, but rather because, Free to Play monetization system can really suck most of the times, and if the Game has a bad F2P model, such as a Pay To Win model, it would completely suck.

Though. considering Sony is overlooking this, (Sincerely hope Sony is over looking this) I doubt that’ll be the case, but I’ll still lower my expectations a little bit now just in case.
It’s definitely a good news for everyone who might not have had the money to buy the game if it was a 60$ Title though! Heck, I am getting free games, so I guess I can’t complain, if I’m to be honest! The question at the end of the day is:

Will a great game be destroyed by it’s monetization model, What do you think?

Image

Leave a Reply

